Thursday, July 13, 2023

BSOTS 180 - In Conversation With Douglas Whitfield (pt. two)


All comments, questions, and general feedback can be sent to  Record a voice message and send it my way or leave one at the Speakpipe page!

Visit the BSOTS Linktree for all the podcast and social media platforms.

This episode's track list (title / artist / source / license):

 1.  The Comet (Featuring Shred Lexicon & The Real Munch) by Headsnack [blocSonic] (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0) (2023)

2.  Infornography by Revolution Void [Free Music Archive] (CC BY-NC 3.0) (2006)

3.  Rich People by Carsie Blanton [Bandcamp] (CC BY-NC-SA 3.0) (2022)

4.  Truth Serum by CM & The Silent Partner [blocSonic] (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0)  (2021)

5.  Kaikou (Bittersweet) by Satori [Upitup] (CC BY-NC-SA 3.0) (2023)

The Free Music Friday to beat them all is finally upon us.  Happy Netlabel Day, everybody!

Serious gratitude and respect going out to Creative Commons Community Music Awards co-founder Douglas Whitfield for getting in touch with me last month to have this conversation about CC licenses, netlabels, and so much more.  In part two of the interview, he talks about the CC Listening Parties that he co-hosts on YouTube alongside Donnie Ozone, an event that grew out of the artistic standstill caused by the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020.  In addition, he shares some ambitious plans for a CC Community Music Hall Of Fame slated to premiere in 2026.

Once again, there's great music to accompany the conversation, including a single from Headsnack that blocSonic has released for this year's Netlabel Day.  Other musical selections include the cabaret protest stylings of Carsie Blanton, the jazz meets electronic music musicianship of Revolution Void, the unbeatable hip-hop combination of CM & The Silent Partner, and a gorgeous after hours instrumental from Satori (taken from the new 20th Anniversary Compilation from Upitup Records).

Thank you so much for listening and I hope that you found this interview as informative as I did.  Don't forget to head on over to the Netlabel Day site and discover more great music!

blocSonic artists mentioned in this episode include:

Ant The Symbol
Louis Lingg & The Bombs
Viktor Van River

Other key info:
BSOTS 179 - In Conversation With Douglas Whitfield (pt. one)
CCCMA Listening Party Season 1, Episode 1
Bandcamp Daily:  Exploring Japanese Netlabel Deep Cuts
Ryno The Bearded
Lorenzo's Music

BSOTS theme music by Cy Tru (edited by Macedonia).  ID drops courtesy of Kahlief Adams of Spawn On Me and Mr. Fitz of Techniken Defunkus.

Background music by SoulProdMusic from Pixabay.


Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

No comments:

Post a Comment