Saturday, August 2, 2014

Radio BSOTS show #148 - Label Profile: Tru Thoughts

It was only a matter of time before I dedicated an entire show to the Tru Thoughts label.  So much of their discography got love from BSOTS last year that it was inevitable.  The fact that the imprint celebrates its 15th Anniversary this year was all the excuse I needed to finally play some Tru Thoughts tunes that Camp Lo-Fi hasn't gotten around to yet.  Beyond that, their releases for 2014 alone warrant some serious attention.  If you're not familiar with Tru Thoughts, consider this episode your inroad to one of the best independent labels on earth.

FYI:  Tru Thoughts recently announced a 15th Anniversary box set releasing in late October of this year.  It sounds like this thing is going to be jam-packed full of goodness, so diehard fans of the label need to seriously consider copping one for themselves.  Check the promotional video below for a teaser and visit for more details.

Download this episode

You can subscribe to Radio BSOTS via the following options:
RSS | iTunes | Stitcher | Tune In

Please call the show to leave your feedback at 1-206-278-0751 or leave a voice message on the Speakpipe page.   You can also get in touch via Twitter or send an email to  And if you love the show, please stop by the Radio BSOTS Facebook page or our Google+ page.

This episode's track list:

1.  Rodney P  - "Success (feat. Harleighblu & Renegade Brass Band)" (2013) {iTunes}
2.  Lost Midas - "Head Games (feat. Audris)" (2014) {iTunes}
3.  Mark de Clive-Lowe & The Rotterdam Jazz Orchestra - "Heaven" (2013) {iTunes}
4.  Kylie Auldist - "In A Week, In A Day (Ashley Beedle's Streetsoul Edit)" (2010) {iTunes}
5.  Quantic Y Su Conjunto Los Miticos Del Ritmo - "They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.)" (2013) {iTunes}
6.  Peshay - "Vanguard" (2014) {iTunes}
7.  Titeknots - "Wordy" (2013) {iTunes}
8.  Quantic & Alice Russell - "Magdalena (feat. Combo B├írbaro)" (2013) {iTunes}
9.  Harleighblu - "Sittin' By The Window (Radio Edit)" (2014) {iTunes}
10.  Natural Self - "Street Spirit" (2010) {iTunes}
11.  Werkha - "Sidesteppin' (feat. Bryony Jarman-Pinto)" (2014) {iTunes}
12.  Anchorsong - "Plum Rain" (2011) {iTunes}
13.  Lanu - "Mother Earth (feat. Aloe Blacc & Quantic)" (2011) {iTunes}
14.  Sleepin' Giantz - "Badungdeng (Clean Version)" (2012) {iTunes}
15.  Hint - "Crash And Burn (C.O.N.E. Remix) [feat. Natalie Storm]" (2012) {iTunes}
16.  Drumagick - "Carreira (Drumagick Extended Running Mix)" (2012) {iTunes}
17.  Menagerie - "Leroy And The Lion" (2012) {iTunes}

ID drops courtesy of Bazooka Joe, Aspektz, EJ Flavors, and Stan Smith.  Theme music produced by Cy Tru.  Background music consists of "germinal ring" by Cyclops Joint and "Leave A Note (Instrumental)" by Silhouette Brown.

Other key info:
The Music Podcast Consortium's Facebook Fan Page
Macedonia on Mixcloud
Macedonia's Tumblr Page
Unfold with Robert Luis
DJ Center Live In Oakland Artist Spotlight Mix:  Massive Attack Artist Spotlight Mix:  Minnie Riperton

("there's something divine in this...")